Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comp II - People and Company Research: People Research Resources

Local Industry News

Crain's Chicago Business: Daily news, focusing upon Chicago area businesses. The News section of the website includes sub-sections on media, marketing and technology.

Screen Magazine: Trade journal for film and television professionals, with a section on Chicago. 

ReelChicago: ReelChicago is targeted to visual media professionals. The site offers information about all aspects of content production,  for screens from iPhones to IMAX.  They cover commercial production, Hollywood and local indie features and TV, videos for the web, branded entertainment, music, video games, corporate, live events, festivals, vendors and more.

Resources

Chicago Creative Directory: A directory of local firms in a variety of creative fields

Variety411 Illinois edition: Variety411 is a national directory, with listings in every state throughout the US.  Found online, Variety411 presents a comprehensive listing of businesses, facilities, stages, crew and individuals that provide services essential to all aspects of production, from pre to post.  The directory is broken down into ten key sections that encompass all production services: Advertising Agencies & Production Companies, Post Production, Sets & Stages, Location Services & Equipment, Production Support, Camera & Sound Equipment, Hi Def, Digital Cinema & 3D, Grip & Lighting Equipment, Props & Wardrobe and Crew. Within these sections are individual categories that are defined by specialty.

Chicago Film Office: Information on motion pictures and television series being filmed in Chicago. SEARCH TIP: Go to IMDB to look up film or television series for listings of cast and crew.

LinkedIn300 million+ members | Manage your professional identity. Build and engage with your professional network. Access knowledge, insights and opportunities.

IMDB: The Internet Movie Database is a searchable or browsable collection of detailed information about more than 200,000 movies, including cast, director, crew filming locations, plot, production, and more. The database is searchable by title, actor, character, quote, awards, and plot.

Visual Effects Society: The Visual Effects Society (VES) is a global professional honorary society and the entertainment industry's only organization representing the full breadth of visual effects practitioners including artists, technologists, model makers, educators, studio executives, supervisors, PR/marketing specialists and producers. VES’s almost 3,000 members in 33 countries worldwide contribute to all areas of entertainment – film, television, commercials, animation, music videos, games and new media.   

ACM/Siggraph Digital Arts Community: This cyber-place of connectivity fosters the evolution of a strong digital arts community within the international organization and promotes dialogue among visual artists, scientists, interaction designers, and more.