Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FLM110 Aesthetics of Media Arts: Streaming Websites

Streaming Websites

There are many sites that offer freely streamed videos that can be very valuable resources.  Please keep in mind that the quality of the image, the player controls, and the allowable usage for these streaming videos can vary.  Content may be added or removed without notice.

 

 
 

The Library of Congress American Memory site provides free online access to moving images, sound recordings, still and  prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.

The Internet Archives' Moving Images Library offers thousands of free movies, including classic full-length films, news broadcasts, propaganda films and cartoons. Many of these videos are available for free download.  Two collections of note are the Prelinger Archives (ephemera collection, 1927-1987) and the Open Source Movies collection which contains many foreign language sub-collections.

Archive of American Television has conducted over 700 long-form interviews (over 3000 hours) with the legends of television. These interviews chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History. Archive  continues to produce new interviews every year.

WGBH Open Vault is the home of WGBH Media Library and Archives (MLA). It provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. It currently houses nearly 1 million audio, video film, and digital assets dating back to 1947.

PBS Video offers streamed award winning national programing and locally produced shows such as Bill Moyers, NOVA, FRONTLINE, History Detectives, Nature, and many others. You will need the latest version of Flash to view (click here for a free download).

Hulu is an online video service that offers hit TV shows, movies, and clips.  Hulu includes a large selection of videos from many large content companies, such as FOX, NBC, National Geographic, ABC, Paramount and PBS. 

There are often advertisements before and during the video. 

MOVIECLIPS provides more than 12,000 short clips from feature films licensed from Fox, MGM, Paramount, Sony, Universal and Warner Bros. The Movieclips player can be embedded in social networks as Facebook and MySpace, and shared on blogs, Twitter and other personal websites, and used in PowerPoint presentations.

In addition to searching by title or actor, the site provide additional search capabilities for dialogue, genre, action, occassion, theme, and mood and categories including best kiss, tearjerkers, birthdays, holidays, awkward moments, action moments, bad guys and fight scenes. Reuse of the clips requires registering with the site.

Thanhouser Films Online: More than 50 films provide a representative cross section of the output produced by the Thanhouser film enterprise based in New Rochelle, New York between 1910 and 1917.

The films were assembled over the past 25 years with the cooperation of archives around the world, including The Library of Congress in Washington, DC, The British Film Institute in London, England, George Eastman House in Rochester, New York, The Museum of Modern Art in New York, New York, the Academy Film Archive in Los Angeles, California, the EYE Film Institute Netherlands in Amsterdam, Holland, and from the Thanhouser collection. Each film includes a summary and analysis written by film historian Victor Graf.  Andrew Crow, Raymond A. Brubacher and Ben Model composed and performed original musical accompaniment commissioned exclusively for this collection. 

Perhaps the best known of all steaming video sites, YouTube is a subsidiary of Google, Inc . The site displays a wide varietyof user-uploaded video content, including movie clips, TV clips, and music videos, as well as amateur content such as video blogging and short original videos. Most of the content on YouTube has been uploaded by individuals, but some media corporations including CBS, the BBC, and other organizations offer some of their material via the site, as part of the YouTube partnership program. YouTube can be a source of last resort for out-of-print and hard-to-find content.